Skip to content

Another End of the Year

December 31, 2011

Don & Dai Sil, October 2, 2006

At another end of the year
I know about the past,
memories I can call out,
to make the best or the worst
out of my past.

I don’t know much about the future,
except for one sure thing–
that death will come to me.

But I can try
to shape my future until then,
to be able to say at my deathbed,
“I had ferocious love for my soul mate.
And with him,
both in life and in death,
love for ordinary people,
in a multiplicity of terrains,
often in the shade of darkness,
fatigue and emptiness as companions.
Fighting until the bitter end,
to create a more humane world,
together with honest and decent folk
as my sisters and brothers.”

If I arrived at life with a cry
I want to go out with a smile
for the life well lived.

From → Uncategorized

4 Comments
  1. Thelma Williams permalink

    How nice of Dr.Kim to share his aunt’s blog with all of us.She and her husband were fortunate to have found each other and to have stayed with each other for so long.To this point, in my life I have not been so fortunate to have remained with my soul mate.I feel like I am reinventing myself again. It is only now that I feel I am beginning my true life’s work.

    • Like you, I am grateful that my nephew, Dr. Kim is kind enough to share my blog. He is so much younger than I, but I think he is twice mature than I! Yes, I was indeed fortunate to have found and lived with my soul mate for almost 30 years. If you were unable to remain with your soul mate, perhaps he was not your soul mate. Be patient and live each day with renewed hope.
      Dai Sil

  2. Troolee permalink

    What a beautiful spirit. Thank you for sharing this. I loved the last line, “If I arrived at life with a cry
    I want to go out with a smile for the life well lived”.

    • Thanks for writing. We all know that we have the same end–death but what matters is how we meet it–the thought of ending it with smile will help make living beautiful and meaningful.
      Dai Sil

Leave a Reply

