Skip to content

Mailman

December 9, 2011

From what Don told me, I imagine a five year old Iowa boy who sneaked out of the kitchen where a wood burning stove gave out orange flames to check the mail in the box, standing close to the unpaved farm road, lonely and cold.  How he wanted to find a letter with his name on it.  How his mother told him that he won’t get a letter until he writes one.  How he wanted to learn to write.

After he was gone, I found Don’s boyhood list of possible occupations for his future. Mailman was at the top.

He didn’t become a mailman who put letters in the box.  But he became a mailman who put ideas and passion into the hearts and minds of people to work for the better world.   For justice, fairness, peace and equality.

Today I want to send him a letter that I will work hard in solidarity with the like-minded people for justice, fairness, peace and equality.  We will draw strength and courage from our inner resources and from each other, not rely on the rich and the powerful.

I imagine Don finding my letter with his name on it and grinning.

Why am I crying?

From → Uncategorized

One Comment
  1. Dear Dai Sil, Thank you for such a real outreach to me and all the other people who have grown to respect,appreciate, and , even love your nephew, Dr. Ben Kim.The first thing that came to me, to say to you, is:
    For I know the thoughts that I think towards you, says the Lord, thoughts of peace and not of evil, to give you a future and a hope.Then you will call upon Me and go and pray to Me, and I will listen to you. And you will seek Me and find Me, when you search for Me with all your heart. ~Jeremiah 29:11-13

    The verse 29:11 has been helping me and others for years- but 12 and 13 are becoming more and more clear to me as time passes…especially this year.
    I am happy and encouraged by your writings, and your sharing of poetry and movies, .. that are powerful about life here on earth, and in heaven…God loves us so much. I just had to write to you.

    I hope to write again, if you wish. God Bless you and all your families & loved ones, Tanya RG

Leave a Reply

