Skip to content

Home for Nomads

December 7, 2011

We come to this world and we leave from it, whence of appearance and disappearance never known for sure but in between is life.  And life is love.

Don, who grew up on Iowa farms and I in northern Korea, were nomads searching for home. I remember one winter daybreak, long ago, my grandmother pulling me away from the house where I grew up, hastening me to walk with a little knapsack on my back.  I was told that we were heading to the south across the 38th parallel in search of democracy. I was seven then.  Don left his Iowa farmstead after high school to go to college, where he thought he might find whatever it was that was filling his heart and mind with longing.

After all these years, in the land across the ocean, that winter morning never forgotten, unsure if I had ever found democracy, I know one thing—when my nomadic life ended:   in 1979, the moment I found Don, my soul mate.  We found a home in each other in life and in death.

My soul mate is gone, but my home is still with him in grief and joy.  Death made him disappear but never separated us. He left undying love in me and continues to urge me to find other nomads to build homes together.  To cry together.  To laugh together. To help feed the starving children of the world together as best as we can.  To love one another.

To share what’s on our minds and hearts toward building a better world.

From → Uncategorized

2 Comments
  1. This text right here, “He left undying love in me and continues to urge me to find other nomads to build homes together. To cry together. To laugh together. To help feed the starving children of the world together as best as we can. To love one another.

    “To share what’s on our minds and hearts toward building a better world.”

    is a powerful mission statement. While some flail around helplessly for countless years after losing their partner, you’ve uncovered profound wisdom and insights, and reclaimed your personal strength, tenacity, and integrity.

    The world is mobilizing with the 99% movement. There are more nomads that are ready to join you now, and there’ll always be more. Find them. Write to them. Bring them into your world, and enter theirs. That’s what this is all about.

    You just happen to be one of the 1% who love so fiercely that you can make a difference. And I love you for that.

    • Yoona,

      How kind of you to send me your comments!
      One of my favorite writers of our time, John Berger, writes about the 21st century as a century of migration. More than ever before, people move around with their address in their hearts, not in places. I’ve spent much of my life searching for home until Imet Don. Don and I had our home in each other. I still have home in him. But additionally, I’ve been developing my idea of home as like minded people. The revolutions in our time cannot be huge ones. They have come and failed. I think it is small revolutions all around the globe with like minded people who found home in each other.

Leave a Reply

